Governor Godwin Obaseki has crossed the first huddle on his part to return as the governor of Edo state as the returning Officer for the PDP Governorship Primaries in Edo State and Governor of Bauchi State, Bala Mohammed has declared him winner of the party primaries.

Obaseki scored 1,952 votes to emerge the Governorship Candidate with 95 percent of the vote cast.

Three of the governorship aspirants, namely Kenneth Imasuagbon, Ogbeide Ihama and Gideon Ikhine had withdrawn from the race with Obaseki as the sole aspirant.

There were a total of 2,234 delegates approved for the primaries but only 2,202 were accredited. The actual delegates that voted were 2,024 with 72 votes declared invalid.

With this development, Obaseki will be facing APC’s Ize-Iyamu at the poll slated for September, 2020.

READ ALSO  ‘A Pyrrhic Victory’ — Delta APC Rejects Governorship Poll Results


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here