Abia COVID-19
Attahiru Jega

The immediate past National Chairman of Nigeria’s electoral umpire, the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, Professor Muhammad Attahiru Jega alongside other prominent Nigerians have agreed to work together in other to reposition the Peoples Redemption Party, PRP.

The involvement of the former INEC boss in a political party is contained in a terse statement signed by the National Publicity Secretary of PRP, Abdul Gombe. According to Mr. Gombe,  Professor Jega will be heading the SWOT analysis Committee of the party.

According to the statement, the SWOT analysis committee would critically examine the strength of PRP, its weakness and the opportunities available to the party as well as threats to its existence and well-being.

It further said, “The PRP at its 62nd National Executive Committee, NEC, meeting held on June 22nd in Kaduna decided to set up a 3 (three) committees to review the performance of the party in the 2019 general election with a view to repositioning the party for better performance in facing new challenges of Nigerian politics.

READ ALSO  2019: Yul Edochie Resigns As Obiano's Aide, Decamps to PDP

“On the basis of a critical analysis of this, the committee made up of some of the best intellectuals in Nigeria will recommend to the party, strategies to adopt for its survival and growth.

“The three committees according to the statement are; The SWOT Analysis Committee, Mobilisation Committee, Finance and Funding Committee.

“Membership mobilisation committee chaired by person who has been in the PRP for 41 years is to examine and advise the party on how best to grow its membership using the best ever methods bearing in current voters demography in Nigeria.

“Finance and funding committee whose membership has business persons will examine current financial status of the PRP and existing funding methodologies as put in the party’s Constitution and suggest how best to make the methodologies work as well as new ways of raising funds to make it a financially stable party with a sustainable operation.”

Other prominent members of the society that made up the three committees are; Publisher and Chairman of the Trust Newspapers, Malam Kabiru A. Yusuf, Prof. Momodu Kashim Momodu, Dr. George Kwanashie, Comrade Ayo Sando, Dr. Obi Osisiogwu, and Prof. Nath Abraham.

READ ALSO  2019 electionAPC has lost to PDP

Others are; Alhaji Sule Mohammed, Alhaji Abdul Gombe, Comrade Olajideh Wolimoh, Alhaji Musa Maigari, Rev. Emmanuel Aniebet, Mr. Malu Timothy Terzungine, and Alhaji Mohammed Bulama.

The rest members of the committee are; Alhaji Falalu Bello, Barrister Hajiya Aisha Dankani, Mr James Magit, Alhaji Haruna Buhari, Mr. Jag Mulya, Alhaji Rabi’u Garba and Alhaji Umar Chikere.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here