The Governors of the South East States has disclosed their readiness to set up funds to assist the victims of the #EndSARS protest in the zone.

In the communique issued at the end of the stakeholders meeting held in Enugu on the 29th of October, 2020 at the Government House Enugu.

The Chairman of the Forum and the Governor of Ebonyi state, Engr Dave Umahi stated that the Governors; “Sympathise with the victims families, the police as well as all those who lost their loved ones and properties in the recent disturbances that followed the #EndSARS agitations.”

Promising that; “The South East leaders will engage our Youths to ensure a sustainable peace in the south east and a glorious future for our children.

“Each state in the south east will set up a fund to assist the victims of the crisis, including the police, the army and other security agencies as well as civilians.”

READ ALSO  BREAKING NEWS: CCT Convicts Former Chief Justice Onnoghen Slams Heavy Penalties On Him

He also assured; “That the state governors are committed to addressing the concerns of our young people that are peculiar to various states and will engage the federal government and their colleagues in other states to address the other issues that are national.”

The Governors enjoined the youths of the region to shun any act capable of destabilizing the zone and assured that they will continue to protect other ethnic groups in the region and thanked others for doing same.

“We advise all our youths that while our governors are working hard to meet their demands, the destruction of public and private properties and killing of security agents and civilians will never be allowed to continue.

“We therefore, direct all Igbos, both in and outside Nigeria to go about their businesses and shouldn’t participate in any form of unlawful protest and criminality.

“We offer to protect all ethnic groups living in the South East and we thank other parts of Nigeria, for protecting our peoples in their areas too.”


Also present at the meeting were Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu State, his Abia State counterpart, Dr. Okezie Ikpeazu, Deputy Governor of Anambra State, Dr. Nkem Okeke, Imo State Deputy Governor, Prof. Placid Njoku, President General of Ohanaeze Ndigbo, Chief Nnia Nwodo, Senator Ike Ekweremadu, Senator Rochas Okorocha, Senator Sam Egwu, Senator Uche Ekwunife.

Others include the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mr. Geoffrey Onyeama, Minister of State for Mines and Steel Development, Hon. Uchechukwu Ogah, Minister of State for Environment, Hon. Mrs. Sharon Ikeazor, the Obi of Onitsha, HRM, Igwe Alfred Achebe, Dr. Okwesilieze Nwodo, Chief Emmanuel Iwuanyanwu, Amb. Mrs. Justina Eze, etc.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here