The All Progressives Congress (APC) senatorial candidate for Enugu West in 2019 general elections, Barrister Mrs. Juliet Ibekaku-Nwagwu yesterday 13th June 2019 testified before the National and state Houses of Assembly Election Petition Tribunal sitting in Enugu.

Mrs. Ibekaku-Nwagwu presented documents before the Tribunal to support her claim of irregularities, electoral fraud and non- compliance with INEC Electoral Laws and Regulations during the election.

“The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in collaboration with INEC officials massively thumbprinted over 100,000 votes and the evidence I have here shows that the election results were skewed to favour the PDP candidate” she said.

Documents presented by Mrs. Ibekaku-Nwagwu and were admitted by the tribunal in evidence were Forms EC8A1, EC8B1, EC8C1, EC8D1 EC8E1 and EC40G

She also presented .electronic evidence of five (5) video clips, ten (10) pictures and two (2) flash drives.

Earlier, some policemen were subpoenaed by the tribunal. In their statements, they admitted that the Smart Card Readers used for accreditation by INEC did not work in many areas.

READ ALSO  Another Catholic Priest Escapes Abduction in Enugu State

However, the tribunal granted an objection raised by Ekweremadu’s counsel against the presentation of an ad hoc staff as witness.

An agent from Ngwo-Uno who appeared for the Petitioner said that there were shortage of election materials ranging from ballot boxes, ink, stamp pads, ballot papers. He also reported that Card Readers did not work in most places.

Out of the witnesses listed by the petitioners counsel, sixteen have been called as at the time of filing this report.

Mrs. Ibekaku-Nwagwu is challenging declaration of Senator Ike Ekweremadu as Senator representing Enugu West zone citing massive electoral fraud and irregularities.

Ekweremadu who is going to the Senate for the 5th time lost Deputy Senate President elections of the Senate to Senator Ovie Omo-Agege on Wednesday 12th June, 2019 during the Inauguration and election of the 9th senate leaders.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here